Mohun Bagan lost in the final of MSC Platinum Jubilee Cup to arch rival Kingfisher East Bengal in the tie breaker on Sunday at Yuba Bharati Krirangan. The match was 2-2 in regulation period and at the end of extra time it was 3-3. The match had gone to tie-breaker and Kingfisher East Bengal won the match by scoring 3 goals in the tie breaker while Bagan scored only 2 goals.

It was the match of prestige but both the team came down to the ground with their second team because of both team’s Sahara CFL commitment.Sanju Pradhan, Robin Singh and Susanth Mathew scored in succession for East Bengal from the spot kicks, but their colleagues Ravinder and Biswajit Natta failed to convert. Mohun Bagan’s opening pair of penalty takers, Souvik Chakraborty and Snehasis Chakraborty failed to score putting pressure on the team. Rahul Kumar and Dipendu Dowari scored to reduce the margin to 2-3 and with Biswajit missing, all hopes of Mohun Bagan rested on Gourango to equalize. However, his shot went high and it was all over.

Mohun Bagan played an aggressive attacking game from the first minute but failed to strike in the first half. At the other end, e Alvito D’ Cunha gave East Bengal the lead with a left foot grounder in the injury time of the first session. Crossing over, Mohun Bagan drew parity through Satish Kumar and Ashim Biswas made it 2-1 with a header. However, Bagan could retain their lead for only 12 minutes when Robin Singh equalized for East Bengal. In the extra time, Robin Singh found the target for East Bengal before Harpreet Singh brought both sides to an even keel.



Kingfisher East Bengal : Nasim(Jayanta), Saikat, Sunil, Gurwinder, Ravinder, Sanju, Sushant, Alvito, Aseem ( Biswajit), Robin, Budhiram (Bikash).

Mohun Bagan : Sangram, Biswajit(Dipendu), Kingshuk, Sagram ( Rahul), Harpreet, Souvik, Snehasish, Jaken ( Gouranga), Satish, Santosh, Asim.

Leave a Reply