McDowell Mohun Bagan is accused by I League Core Committee for the derby incident. In the I League Core Committee there are the members of five clubs, East Bengal, Dempo, Pune FC, Lajong Fc and United Sikkim. Surprisingly there is no Mohun Bagan delegation. The meeting was held at Football House, New Delhi and the punishment of Mohun Bagan is measured as per report Justice A.K. Ganguly, appointed by AIFF for the investigation of derby mishap on 9th December. Article 22C of I League constitution has been imposed to Mohun Bagan.

 As per this article:

1) Mohun Bagan is banned from this year I League. All the matches Bagan played in this present I League, will be considered as null & void and this year I League will be treated as 13 teams’ league.

2) Mohun Bagan will be banned for next two years I League also. In this tenure they can play any tournament except I League, even Federation Cup also. Usually Mohun Bagan doesn’t participate in any All India Tournament except Fed Cup.

3) Mohun Bagan has to pay heavy penalty to AIFF, as Ten Action, the concerned channell will loose the opportunity to telecast match of Mohun Bagan.

However, no official statement has been come from Mohun Bagan officials but  millions of Bagan fans are shocked and surprised by this decision.

Leave a Reply