The Indian national-level football season kicks off with the Federation Cup from September 21. The 32nd edition of the Federation Cup will be played in 5 venues, Silchar (Assam), Mapusa (Goa), Cuttack (Orissa), Ludhiana (Punjab), and Vasco (Goa).
Earlier, the first 2 venues will host the qualifying round matches. The final round, starting from quarter-final, will be hosted by the remaining venues. Also, Cuttack will be hosting the semi-final and final matches. The matches in Cuttack will be played in Barabati Stadium, famous for hosting international cricket matches.

There are 4 groups with 4 teams in each group. The group toppers will qualify for the semi-final round.

They find themselves in Group D along with Salgaocar, Mumbai FC, and qualifier from Group A. Federation Cup is definitely Mohun Bagan’s favourite tournament. They have won the tournament for the record number of 13 times, way ahead of East Bengal, who has won 5 times. Mohun Bagan plays their first match against the qualifying team on Wednesday, September 22.




Qualifying Round

Group A – Silchar

M1- September 15, 2010: Oil India Vs Mohammedan Sporting

M2- September 16, 2010: NISA Vs Shillong Lajong FC

Group A Final – September 18, 2010: M1 winner Vs M2 winner

Group B – Mapusa

M1- September 14, 2010: Vasco Vs Sesa Football Academy

M2- September 15, 2010: Sporting Clube de Goa Vs Malabar United

Group B Final – September 17, 2010: M1 winner Vs M2 winner

Quarterfinal Round

Group A – Cuttack

September 21, 2010: East Bengal Vs Air India

September 21, 2010: HAL Vs Pune FC

September 23, 2010: Air India Vs Pune FC

September 23, 2010: HAL Vs East Bengal

September 25, 2010: East Bengal Vs Pune FC

September 25, 2010: HAL Vs Air India

Group B – Vasco

September 21, 2010: Group B Qualifier Vs Chirag United

September 21, 2010: Churchill Brothers Vs Viva Kerala

September 23, 2010: Viva Kerala Vs Chirag United

September 23, 2010: Group B Qualifier Vs Churchill Brothers

September 25, 2010: Group B Qualifier Vs Viva Kerala

September 25, 2010: Chirag United Vs Churchill Brothers

Group C – Ludhiana

September 21, 2010: Dempo Vs ONGC

September 21, 2010: JCT Vs India XI

September 23, 2010: Dempo Vs India XI

September 23, 2010: ONGC Vs JCT

September 25, 2010: India XI Vs ONGC

September 25, 2010: JCT Vs Dempo

Group D – Cuttack

September 22, 2010: Mohun Bagan Vs Group A Qualifier

September 22, 2010: Salgaocar Vs Mumbai FC

September 24, 2010: Group A Qualifier Vs Salgaocar

September 24, 2010: Mohun Bagan Vs Mumbai FC

September 26, 2010: Mohun Bagan Vs Salgaocar

September 26, 2010: Group A Qualifier Vs Mumbai FC

Semifinal – Cuttack

September 29, 2010: Group A Winner Vs Group B Winner

September 30, 2010: Group C Winner Vs Group D Winner

Final – Cuttack

October 02, 2010

Leave a Reply