Choi canceled out an own-goal from Narugopal to ensure Chirag finishes the last match of the IFA Shield with a draw. But as per FIFA rule there is no same side goal, so the match commissioner declared Ashim Biswas as the scorer as the last touch had come from his foot. Mohun Bagan’s Trophy hope continues as Bagan finished top of the group. Last time Mohun Bagan won this trophy was in 2003. Mohun Bagan played in the final 3 times in last 5 occasions but failed to win the title.

Bagan started off well – however, fitness is of real concern. Only 3 players ( one goalkeeper , one stopper and one side back) were there in the reserve bench while none of the players of foreign origin were available for the game.

However in the 11th minute Bagan got the lead when Narugopal conceded an own goal. In the 60th minute Choi converted a penalty into a goal to make it 1-1. Gouranga got couple of chances, and Ashim created panic in chirag box from time to time – but failed to break Chirag defense. Chirag played exceptionally well in the second half – Deepak and the team had a tough time – Deepak was off colour today.

Bagan might face Churchill Borthers in the semi-final. Last time they met in this trophy was in the final of the last occasion – and Bagan went down against CB.



Mohun Bagan: Sangram, Sukumar, Dipak (Sagram Mandi), Kingshuk, Biswajit, Gouranga, Rahul Kumar, Jayanta Sen, Dipendu Dowari, Ishfaq Ahmed, Ashim Biswas

Leave a Reply